Classification of marine Ascomycota, Basidiomycota, Blastocladiomycota and Chytridiomycota

E. B. Gareth Jones, Satinee Suetrong, Jariya Sakayaroj, Ali H. Bahkali, Mohamed A. Abdel-Wahab, Teun Boekhout, Ka-Lai Pang

    Research output: Contribution to journal/periodicalArticleScientificpeer-review

    280 Citations (Scopus)


    This paper lists the accepted names and classification of marine fungi, updating the scheme presented in 2009. The classification includes 1,112 species (in 472 genera): Ascomycota 805 (in 352 genera), Basidiomycota 21 species (in 17 genera), Chytridiomycota and related phyla 26 species (in 13 genera), Zygomycota three (in two genera), Blastocladiomycota one species (one genus), asexual morphs of filamentous fungi 43 (in 26 genera); and marine yeasts: Ascomycota 138 species (in 35 genera), Basidiomycota 75 species (in 26 genera). These fungi belong to 129 families and 65 orders. The Halosphaeriaceae remains the largest family of marine fungi with 141 species in 59 genera, while the most specious genera are Aspergillus (47 species), Penicillium (39 species) and the yeast genus Candida (64 species). The review includes details of recent higher order nomenclature changes, and accounts of new families, genera and species described over the past 5 years.
    Original languageEnglish
    Pages (from-to)1-72
    JournalFungal Diversity
    Issue number1
    Publication statusPublished - Jul 2015


    • Fungal classification
    • Marine fungi
    • Molecular phylogeny
    • New taxa
    • Praelongicaulis gen. nov
    • Tirisporellales
    • Torpedosporales ordo nov


    Dive into the research topics of 'Classification of marine Ascomycota, Basidiomycota, Blastocladiomycota and Chytridiomycota'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

    Cite this